Passing under the round City Tower, the former main medieval town entrance that gave access to the coast, you enter the centre of Rijeka’s Old Town.
In the 18th century, Baron Mihovil Androcha ordered the construction of a simple summer house in the middle of a vineyard and an olive grove on the hill just above the northern city walls.
The luxurious city palace of Annibale Ploech, one of the four most important men connected to the torpedo works, was built in 1888 based on the design of the notable Rijeka architect, Giacomo Zammatti.
As Rijeka has always competed with the port of Trieste, this meant it should have its own Palazzo Modello...
The Turkish House was built close to the heart of the city market and attracts visitors thanks to its picturesque appearance.
The large Art Nouveau building of the Teatro Fenice as we know it today dates back to 1914 and is the successor of the similar older and more modest facility.
The skyscraper that dominates the square on the western end of the Korzo was built during the Second World War, in 1942.
Bernard Braun and Danijel Biro’s house displays its picturesque facade close to the main city market. Its current appearance dates back to 1905.
The Adria Palace is a symbol of Rijeka’s maritime power. In the period of its construction it was proclaimed as a facility that would be the "most beautiful and richest building in Rijeka".
The Mrtvi kanal appeared on the city map when it was decided that the final part of the Rječina, the main city river, should be deviated...
The Lazaret located in present day Krešimirova Street was used between 1725 and 1812. In that period it was one of the most modern maritime health facilities on the Adriatic coast.
When Giovanni Schittar’s two floored house on Rijeka's Korzo became a three floored house in 1905, its new facade "smiled" at Korzo in Art Nouveau style.
The palace belonging to Robert Whitehead (inventor of the torpedo, together with Giovanni Luppis) was nominated a Venetian House thanks to its architectonic associations with the Venetian Gothic.
Rijeka architect I. Hencke designed the Orthodox Church of St Nicholas in 1787, and the street that leads from the City Tower connecting the Korzo promenade to the waterfront, bears his name.
The Casa rossa (Red House) was built before the people coming from the sea at the entrance to the Mrtvi kanal Channel in 1903.
The building where the current City Hall operates is the former City Savings Bank building.
The Corso cinema and theatre appeared on Korzo in 1913, based on the design of the owner of the facility, Francesco Mattiassi.
The former Royal hotel can be recognised in the building which today houses the seat of the Primorje-Gorski kotar County.
Kozala Cemetery was one of the first communal cemeteries in Europe. The terrain used for its construction was purchased in 1771 and it has been enlarged several times.
The Linden House was a continuation of the Schittar and Milcenich-Cerniak houses on Rijeka's Korzo not only thanks to its neighbouring position, but to its picturesque facade as well.
The oldest known Rijeka’s municipal palace stands even today in the northern part of Kobler Square.
The sugar refinery was the first and oldest industrial plant in Rijeka. It was founded in 1750 and used for processing of sugarcane and raw sugar.
Along the back side of the parish office you can come to the oldest Trsat church – St. George the Martyr's. The access road is typically paved with sea pebbles, which was common up to the late 19th century.
Before the Second World War, the eastern part of present day Rijeka functioned as a separate city called Sušak...
Unlike other cities which were initially connected to the rest of the world by a single railway line, Rijeka did the same by two railways.
The city of Rijeka is renowned for its multiculturalism, and it proudly holds, according to many, one of the most beautiful mosques in Europe; which was opened in 2013.